Matthias asks, “Soon we will be preparing marketing budgets for next year. What tips do you suggest?”
Budgeting is forecasting, and forecasting means prediction.
- Identify highest ROI channels and strategies based on historical data
- Cost data is essential
- Identify goals and targets to hit
- Status quo
- Identify cost to hit targets
- Forecast by channel what your likely outcomes are using predictive analytics
- Identify delta among outcomes
- Calculate cost gap to hit needed outcomes
- Calculate cost gap to hit stretch outcomes
- Allocate budget across the year as a percentage of volume by channel for each scenario
- If a channel is spread too thin, consider reallocating to a higher performing channel
If you’ve been given a pool regardless of outcome, repeat the above process using the pool and the cost of acquisition to forecast the likely outcome, then hand back to the folks in charge with the forecasted outcome. If they view it as unacceptable, the ball is in their court.
Shameless plug: if you’d like help doing the above, I’d be happy to help you through my company, Trust Insights. Reach out and let me know.
Can’t see anything? Watch it on YouTube here.
Listen to the audio here:
- Got a question for You Ask, I’ll Answer? Submit it here!
- Subscribe to my weekly newsletter for more useful marketing tips.
- Find older episodes of You Ask, I Answer on my YouTube channel.
- Need help with your company’s data and analytics? Let me know!
What follows is an AI-generated transcript. The transcript may contain errors and is not a substitute for watching the video.
In today’s episode, Matthias asks,
soon, we’ll be preparing budgets for next
year. What tips do you suggest? Ah, it’s at least wonderful time of year
budgeting and planning. But it’s also the most essential. And if you get it wrong, you set yourself up for a really, really uncomfortable year where you can’t deliver on the results that people are asking yourself. How do you do this? Well, budgeting is
forecasting. And forecasting means prediction. And so we’re going to talk a lot about predictive analytics,
the first thing you need to do is dig into your existing data. And you’re going to need three sets of two sets of data, you’re going to need the return the the outcomes are generated over the year by channel and strategy based on historical data. And you’re going to need the cost data. So for example,
you’re going to have the outcome of SEO, and then the cost of SEO, including like all the tools and the amount of time that you spent on it. And then that gives you the ability to compute ROI. Because ROI is earned minus spent divided by spent classical formula, make sure that you use it appropriately, you need this cost data. And if you’re not doing cost data, as part of your ROI calculations late, you’re not doing ROI. But be you will not have the data you need to do budgeting appropriately. So make sure that you break out on a worksheet all of your outcomes, all of your costs, and then the ROI each remember to include time
you every thing you do in budgeting should have a hard dollar cost on soft dollar cost. And then you need to have both in there. Because that’s the only way you can plan and resource for the future. And the second thing you need to do is identify the goals of the targets to hit. And a lot of this is going to be working backwards, we usually with sales data, so you’re going to have to three scenarios you’ll be writing for status quo, if nothing changes this, these are the targets of the company.
Usually that’s not acceptable. That’s like the floor like you can’t go below this amount. Because it just shows you’re going backwards, there’s the needed amount. So if you have a floor of 1000 leads for the year, maybe you’re needed about your target amount, you need to hit your base sales goal, it’d be like 2000 leads. And then your third scenario is your stretch your ideal outcome for the year.
Remember that by doing your cost and your ROI calculations with your existing outcomes, you should be have a essentially $1 amount per acquisition of your target. So
website visitors is your outcome, if it’s email subscribers, if it’s leads, marketing, qualified leads, sales, qualified leads, whatever it is,
you need to have that
that cost per that target met as an essential computation. Because what you’re going to be able to say is
status quo, our cost per acquisition was this are needed cost per acquisition Is this our stretch cost per acquisition is this if you have 1000, 1000
leads, and it costs what’s called $1, right, $1 per lead, then your status quo budget to acquire another thousand leads is going to be $1,000. If you if you have 2000 is your needed goal to hit your sales numbers, you’re going to need $2,000. And this is where a lot of marketers get lost, because
they just kind of do stuff or our makeup numbers, instead of going backwards and
say, No, if you want 2000 leads, it’s going to cost you $2,000, we cannot generate 2000 leads for 50% off. That’s it, you know, it’s not buying stuff at Walmart, you are,
there’s a cost per acquisition.
OK, so now you have your costs give your targets here, your cost per target. The third thing you need to do it well forth. And you need to do is forecast by channel, what you’re likely outcomes are using predictive analytics.
take your Google Analytics data forecast forward
52 weeks, or actually 70 weeks, because you’re going to need to forecast through the end of 2019.
And what you want to do is forecast that
out so that you can identify what you’re likely outcome for channel or so if you have number of leads generated in your marketing automation software,
you want to forecast that forward, if you have
a website visitors or form fills, or whatever it is forecast that out. And that will give you your likely totals for the year to come for you to the every channel that’s in your analytics,
the next thing to do is identify the Delta among those outcomes. So if you know that it takes, for example,
10 visitors to for every lead the end, you forecast for your website traffic. With predictive analytics, you can then essentially distill down how many likely leads you’re going to get and identify that gap, okay, we know from the status quo, we’re going to get 979 leads, but our her needed goals 2000, okay, we need we have a gap of, you know, 1021
leads we need to make up there’s your delta between what’s likely to happen and what you need to have happen. And when you have that now, you can start calculating costs, you can say, okay, we’re going to need an extra $1,071 or $1,021 to make up the gap for that extra those extra leads that with the business needs to hit. And if you have a stretch goal, and
5000 leads, and you say, okay, it’s going to cost you an extra
$4,000 and change in order to get to that stretch goal,
having the that gap and being able to prove this is the cost of a lead. And this is the cost of what it takes to acquire that lead is how you get to your budget numbers in an intelligent way, instead of making stuff up,
the next thing you do is using that same predictive analytics data, we scale it essentially so that every week or month as a percentage of the whole, and then you allocate your budget across that. So if you know, it’s going to cost you $5,000 to acquire all the leads you want. And I’m just remember, we’re using fictional numbers here.
And you know, that in July, July, let’s say July, it’s gonna be, that’s gonna be 10% of all your lead gen is going to happen in that month, then, you know, your budget for that month gonna be $500. And so you’ve you forecast out, you, you really scale your prediction as as percentage, and then you apply your budget numbers to apply what percentage to your budget numbers to figure out exactly what to spend each month. And if you’ve done it with Google Analytics data, for example, your marketing automation data, then you all do it by channel. So if you know searches, 10% of all of your leads, and you put 500 bucks in July, 50 bucks has to go to
see how that works. You’re, you’re you’re using math to precisely allocate out your budget,
if a channel spread too thin. If you know like looking at going, I’ve only allocated $1 for Facebook in July, you may want to consider just reallocate pulling that budget out of Facebook and putting it to a higher performing channel again, that’s why that you start off with that highest ROI channel analysis up front. Because if you don’t do that, you will be spreading butter way to then across too many pieces of bread.
Now, that’s the process that is
target based and outcome based. What happens in some organizations is that you’re given a pool of money. And you know, some bigger corporations and companies are like this will say, well, you have $500 to work with period, no matter what you care about what you think the goals are, you repeat the process, but you use hundred as that as that
budgeting amount per to forecast out through the year. And you identify based on cost per acquisition. And you can say, Hey,
500 bucks is only going to get to 500 leads, you’re going to have a 50% drop from this year where we had $1,000 for 1000 leads and you hand it back to the folks in charge and say, This is what you’re going to get this is the likely outcome if that’s not okay. You need to add budget but we’re telling you right now, this is what you’re going to get. I was at a past company and got a budget number that was 50% smaller and and I said to the powers that be you’re going to get 50% fewer results and lo and behold, you know three months into the new year. Like why is our our numbers down so much? Well, because you gave us 50% of the resources we got 50% of the result. That’s how life works.
So be able to defend that prepare and and demonstrate that you’ve done your homework and and created a budget that meets the outcomes that you want. That’s the process for budgeting. But I recommend and one I suggest that you follow in your work as well. As always if you have questions please ask them here and subscribe to the YouTube channel on the newsletter. I’ll talk to you soon. Take care what help solving
your company’s data analytics and digital marketing problems. This is trusted insights.ai today and let us know how we can help you.
You might also enjoy:
- Best Practices for Public Speaking Pages
- How to Set Your Public Speaking Fee
- How To Set Your Consulting Billing Rates and Fees
Want to read more like this from Christopher Penn? Get updates here:
Get your copy of AI For Marketers
Also published on Medium.